Two years…

It hurts to think of you.

It hurts to hear silence where your voice once existed.Please come back.

It hurts to see photos, instead of your face, that was so like my own…

It hurts to know that your world is rotting away in cardboard boxes.

I kept the pencil sharpenings I found in your pocket.

It hurts to keep them.

It hurts to even think of not keeping them.

I can still smell the shampoo in your lock of hair.

It hurts to smell it.

I miss you every minute,

and it hurts.

8 thoughts on “Two years…

  1. primalnights says:

    Wonderful write. Painful and so well done.

    Like

  2. Jenny says:

    This is beautiful. I know this pain too. I’m so so sorry that you are experiencing it.

    Like

  3. lawsonsotherdog says:

    Love is great when all is going well but love can also be a shit/painful end of the road stuff. I have had my fair share of pain in this area. When I was in love I was going up on the down escalator when I should have been going up, pretty funny it was like I was Chaplin. Then the same love went bust, and it hurt real bad, now that part of life is still there but no longer with the same hurt, other things have come…………….you write with such dignity……………….i like it…..i like you

    Like

    • Thank you. Most of my writing is about the up’s and down’s of my relationship – sometimes frustrating and infuriating, sometimes funny or ridiculous. ‘Two years’ is about how I’m coping with the death of my 12 year old daughter. The pain seems to get worse with every day that passes… Time doesn’t always heal – sometimes you just learn to live with it. Life must go on for those of us left behind though. You’re an awesome poet – your words resonate deeply inside me, and I very much like that. I always look forward to reading your thoughts. Thank you for that.

      Like

      • lawsonsotherdog says:

        hi thanks, very sorry about your daughters loss, I can’t imagine, look if want to communicate through email your welcome it is lawsonsotherdog@hotmail.com
        personally i suffer from depression but in some small way writing has set me free, the only person i ever really loved was my mother & when she died i went a bit crazy, lived in rooming houses, drank, all sorts of stuff, she has been dead for over 20 years and I still can’t forget. your a good person love…………Ken

        Like

      • Thank you. She was a beautiful old soul who left behind a legacy of questions, as well as answers. Thank you. Toni.

        Like

Leave a Reply

