Let me go…

My anklet is off.

I’m free, I’m free!

Still, you had to turn my world upside down again.

You had to suck the pleasure right out of my freedom.

You left me with no option.

I had to do what was best for me…

I packed a bag, and skipped town.

For the first time in over a year,

I went away.

I got to breathe the sea air.

I got to relax with someone I trust.

I laughed.  I drank.

I was merry.

It felt good to get away.

It felt good to get home again.

I feel recharged.

I feel peaceful and energetic.

I need you to let me go now.

4 thoughts on “Let me go…

  1. So glad for you that the anklet is off! Still – heavy, awkward, tied down – we drag the old ball and chain. Bryer still haunts and echoes. How to be free? See with the light of her eyes. Still, tethered, you orbit a man. How to be free? See with the light of your eyes. What helps? The presence of those who love you without judgment. You’re certainly on the right track now, dear . . .

    Like

  2. A Hot Mess says:

    Glad to hear your fashion accessory is off. Glad to hear you got away.

    Like

Leave a Reply

