A simple pleasure…

Watching the dogs

sprint past

in the cool night air.

Breathing.

The quiet breeze

gently ruffles my hair,

and the darkness

surrounds everything.

Breathing.

Remembering.

I remember that you’re gone.

Like a giant slap in the face,

a freight train smashes into my heart,

and I hear sobbing

deep inside my soul.

 

I’m so sorry Baby.

 

I grit my teeth.

The crushing in my chest

settles into a familiar heavy ache,

and the breeze ruffles harder,

reminding me

not to miss a second

of living.

To bask in every moment of life.

 

On your behalf,

if not my own.

Xx

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

